Registration - professional trade, only for wine professionals Event reserved for professionalsLearn more

A well-preserved, untamed nature setting

The Côtes de Provence Notre-Dame des Anges designation extends through an extraordinary environment, surrounding the Plaine des Maures National Nature Reserve. The landscape encompasses umbrella pines, oak trees and chestnut groves, where close to 180 protected species live together in harmony.

A Mediterranean climate with continental influences for wonderful grape maturity

Cut off from any maritime influence by the presence of the Massif des Maures, the Notre-Dame des Anges region is subject to a Mediterranean climate with continental influences, featuring cool, wet winters (900 mm/year) and particularly hot, dry summers. The temperature range associated with this climate allows the grapes to reach peak phenolic maturity whilst maintaining the acidity of the berries.

28% of the total area is certified or undergoing conversion to organic farming or HEV (High Environmental Value).

Diverse soils including the red earth typical of Provence

The entire sector is located on the same geological formation Permian sandstone dating from the Palaeozoic era (the oldest geological remains in the appellation), on which four main types of soils can be found:

Schist

along the edges of the Maures mountain range

Sand
Pelites

whose red colour is one of the visible characteristics of this terroir

Old alluvial terraces of the aille river

Geographic location of the wine region

Les Arcs-sur-Argens, Carnoules, Taradeau, Vidauban, Le Cannet-des-Maures, La Garde-Freinet, Le Luc-en-Provence, Les Mayons, Gonfaron et Pignans

> Download a PDF version of the map

Utilisez les gestes pour découvrir la carte

Évènement Sur les chemins des Anges

Un écrin de nature sauvage et préservé

La dénomination Côtes de Provence Notre-Dame des Anges se déploie dans un environnement exceptionnel, enserrant la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de la Plaine des Maures. Un paysage composé de pins parasols, de chênes et de châtaigneraies et dans lequel cohabitent près de 180 espèces protégées.

Un climat méditerranéen aux influences continentales assurant de très belles maturités

Coupé de toute influence maritime par la présence du massif des Maures, le vignoble Notre-Dame des Anges est soumis à un climat méditerranéen aux influences continentales, avec des hivers frais et humides (900 mm/an) et des étés particulièrement chauds et secs. L’amplitude thermique liée à ce climat permet d’atteindre de très belles maturités phénoliques tout en préservant l’acidité des baies.

28% des surfaces sont cultivées en agriculture biologique ou HVE (certifiées ou en conversion).

Une diversité de sols dont les terres rouges caractéristiques de la Provence

Tout le secteur est situé sur une formation géologique commune : le grès permien datant du Primaire (le vestige géologique le plus ancien dans l’appellation) sur laquelle on retrouve quatre principaux types de sols :

Les Schistes

des bordures des Maures

Les Sables
Les pélites

dont la couleur rouge est une des caractéristiques visibles de ce terroir

Les anciennes Terrasses alluviales de l’Aille

La situation géographique du vignoble

Les Arcs-sur-Argens, Carnoules, Taradeau, Vidauban, Le Cannet-des-Maures, La Garde-Freinet, Le Luc-en-Provence, Les Mayons, Gonfaron et Pignans

> Télécharger la carte en PDF

Utilisez les gestes pour découvrir la carte